Create Your Own Door

Have you ever felt like a potential employer ghosted you? Kind of like how an encounter on Tinder might pan out, with one party just stopping communication all together even after what seemed like a good rapport. That’s basically how I’ve felt over the past few days.

Over the weekend, I thought a lot about the previous week and how it felt like I had been ghosted by two potential employers. Both had told me that they were interested in setting up 2nd round interview, yet neither of them had contacted me by week’s end. It doesn’t exactly feel great leaving your future employment and earnings potential up to the whims of someone else that has no stake in your life.

When it seems like all of the doors close for you, what is left? Why not be like Arnold in Terminator 2 and create your own door?

tbp9ff1ypgjsg

I was really hoping to get the marketing job I had applied for, but what is to stop me from learning about marketing and acquiring the skills to do it on my own? It would take some time, but there is nothing stopping me from doing exactly that besides myself. So with that, I leave you with a ridiculous remix of Shia Labeouf’s motivational speech.

 

Leave a Reply

