What Keeps You Awake At Night?

Are you ever kept awake at night, due to an endless stream of thoughts and worries? Worried about a test you didn’t study for? Possibly won’t have enough money at the end of the month? What about lack of self actualization?

pay bills and die
Don’t settle for what everyone else is doing.

What is self actualization? It is the realization or fulfillment of one’s talents and potentialities, especially considered as a drive or need present in everyone. Basically, it is figuring out what you were meant to do in life.

A few years ago, I had been with a company 7 years, working a job that was by all accounts a great one. I wasn’t happy though. I was decent enough at it, but never felt driven or inspired by my work.

w49tpfuhc8th6
Why do something if your heart isn’t in it?

After work, I’d come home, smoke a bowl, and play video games until I either passed out or I got a call from work to remote in on my laptop. I lost a lot of sleep over my situation and most mornings I struggled to decide if I should use a sick day just to get out of work that day. So I left.

icqyhekm55iki
Some things aren’t worth it.

Flash forward to now, I still haven’t quite figured out what I should be doing with my life, but have a better understanding of what kind of work and hobbies I find fulfilling. Sure, it might take me a while to get to where I need to be, but I’m on the path that will get me there.

nfl9jyjqandge
How do you feel at the end of the day?

I may not be making as much as I used to or work in an air conditioned office, but I find that at the end of the day I feel better about what I’m doing and I’m getting a heck of a lot more sleep.

 

 

Leave a Reply

